Allergenic foods or foods (including food additives and processing aids) derived from those allergens must be labelled. These are cereals containing gluten (wheat, oats, rye, barley, spelt and hybridised strains), crustacea, eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, soybeans, sesame seeds, tree nuts (not coconuts) and lupin. You need to also declare added sulphites in concentrations of 10 mg/kg or more.
Advisory statements for sugar replacers are required – these include ingredients such as lactitol, maltitol, maltitol syrup, mannitol, xylitol, erythritol, isomalt, polydextrose and sorbitol.
Some foods have specific requirements for warning statements that must be included on the label of the food and the type size is specified for these foods. An example is royal jelly as a food or contained in a food as an ingredient a food that can cause severe allergic reactions and in rare cases, fatalities.